Share:

Rogers CEO Apologizes for Network Outages, Credits Customers with 1 Day of Service [u]

Share:

Rogers cell network outage heat map, via Canadian Outages

Rogers has just issued a press release to state its wireless voice and SMS service has been restored, along with the Fido as well. Rogers CEO Nadir Mohamed apologized to customers for the “unacceptable” outage:

“I recognize this service interruption was unacceptable for our customers. We worked as quickly as possible to restore service and it was gradually restored over the course of the evening. I sincerely apologize to all of our customers for this significant inconvenience and appreciate their understanding and patience.”

We first heard signs of a cell network outage affecting customers around 3PM PDT/6PM EDT, as service was intermittent before it went to a full-scale nationwide outage, affecting the majority of customers.

As the company scrambled to restore service throughout the evening, customers took to Twitter and other social networks to vent their frustration, to the point where hashtags such as #rogersoutage started trending in Canada along with ‘Fido’, ‘wireless’, ‘outage’ and ‘Rogers’. Some businesses even cleverly took advantage of this opportunity to market themselves, such as A&W:

Rogers officially announced service had been restored as of 8:43PM PDT/11:43PM EDT:

The company says they are continuing to investigate the cause of the outage to prevent future issue and to say thanks to customers for their patience, they will be providing all Rogers/Fido postpaid wireless customers with one day of service credit.

Were you affected by this Rogers/Fido cell network outage?

Update: Rogers has informed us it is looking into compensating all Pay as You Go customers (Rogers, Fido, Chatr) as well.

Share: