Facebook Canada Reveals 2016’s Top Instagram Moments [u]

As head into the tail end of 2016, Facebook has shared some top Canadian moments from Instagram for the year. While we normally see global data, it’s nice to get some Canadian-specific moments. Take a look below:

  • Most-followed Canadian of 2016: Drake @champagnepapi – 30.4 million followers
  • Most-liked Canadian post of 2016: Drake – https://www.instagram.com/p/BJrtPshjQad/=
  • Top Canadian hashtag: #toronto
  • Most Instagrammed Canadian location of 2016 (based on geotag data): Niagara Falls
  • Most used emoji in Canada: red heart

Drake instagram

As you can see, ‘Drizzy’ is the most popular Canadian on Instagram, while the most-used hashtag here was #toronto, confirming the city is indeed the ‘centre of the universe’.

People really love to share images while at Niagara Falls, and the most popular emoji in Canada is the heart. Aren’t Canadians just so special?

We’ll have global Instagram data coming soon. Stay tuned for an update.

Update: Here is more Instagram data emailed to iPhone in Canada from a Facebook spokesperson:

Most-followed Canadians of 2016: As of Wednesday, 11/30
1 Drake (@champagnepapi)- 30.4 million followers
2 Shawn Mendes (@shawnmendes) – 16.1 million followers
3 The Weeknd (@theweeknd) – 7.6 million followers
4 Avril Lavigne (@avrillavigne) – 4.2 million followers
5 Farah Dhukai (@farahdhukai) – 4.1 million followers
6 Kristen Hancher (@kristenhancher) – 2.2 million followers
7 Lyzabeth Lopez (@lyzabethlopez) – 2.1 million followers
8 deadmau5 (@deadmau5) – 2 million followers
9 Jeremy Bieber (@jeremybieber) – 1.9 million followers
10 Yolanda Gampp (@yolanda_gampp) – 1.9 million followers

Most-liked Canadian celebrity posts of 2016:
1 Drake – https://www.instagram.com/p/BJrtPshjQad/
2 Shawn Mendes – https://www.instagram.com/p/BMKpBCsgE36/
3 Drake – https://www.instagram.com/p/BL9lykBD4dj/

Top Canadian hashtags:
1 #toronto
2 #love
3 #canada
4 #vancouver
5 #instagood
6 #summer
7 #beautiful
8 #travel
9 #nature
10 #art

Most Instagrammed Canadian locations of 2016 (based on geotag data):
1 Niagara Falls
2 Rogers Centre Toronto Blue Jays Game
3 Air Canada Centre
4 Toronto Pearson International Airport
5 Canada’s Wonderland
6 Vieux Port de Montreal
7 CN Tower / La Tour CN
8 Vancouver International Airport
9 Molson Canadian Amphitheatre
10 Whistler Blackcomb

Top emojis used in Canada:
1 Red heart
2 Smiley with hearts as eyes
3 Smiley with tears from eyes

Top hashtag of 2016 (global): #love??Most-used Instagram filters:
1 Clarendon
2 Gingham
3 Juno
4 Lark
5 Moon

Most Instagrammed days of 2016:
1 Halloween – 10/31/16
2 The 15th Anniversary of 9/11 – 9/11/16
3 Euro Cup Final – 7/10/16
4 United States Election – 11/6/16
5 Olympics (Celebratory posts about Michael Phelps, Simone Biles and Usain Bolts’ big wins) – 8/14/15
6 Father’s Day – 6/19/16
7 Paris Fashion Week – 10/1/16
8 Mother’s Day – 5/8/16
9 New Year’s Day – 1/1/16
10 Easter Sunday – 3/27/16

Most-followed celebrities of 2016: As of Wednesday, 11/30
1 Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 103 million followers
2 Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) – 93.9 million followers
3 Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 90.2 million followers
4 Beyonce (@beyonce) – 89.2 million followers
5 Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian) – 88.2 million followers
6 Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 82.8 million followers
7 Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 80 million followers
8 Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 71.5 million followers
9 Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) – 69.4 million followers
10 Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) – 69.2 million followers

Most Instagrammed locations of 2016 (based on global geotag data):
1 Disney Properties
2 Universal Studios Properties
3 Central Park
4 Times Square, New York City
5 Eiffel Tower
6 Louvre Museum
7 Las Vegas Strip
8 Santa Monica Pier
9 Brooklyn Bridge
10 ???? / Vystavka Dostizheniy Narodnogo Khozyaystva

Top food-related hashtags:
1 #instafood
2 #foodporn
3 #healthy
4 #foodie
5 #yummy
6 #coffee
7 #delicious
8 #dinner
9 #breakfast
10 #sweet

Top millennial hashtags:
1 #swag
2 #goals
3 #meme
4 #dope
5 #aesthetic
6 #beastmode
7 #bookstagram
8 #fire
9 #squad
10 #bae

Top colloquialisms:
1 #swag
2 #goals
3 #dope
4 #fire
5 #squad
6 #bae
7 #grind
8 #bro
9 #bestie
10 #dank

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of iPhoneinCanada.ca. Follow me on Twitter, and @iPhoneinCanada, and on Google+.