Google Photos Can Now Automatically Delete Your Backed Up Pictures

Google Photos has today been updated with a new “Free Up Space” feature, which is now rolling out on Android smartphones and is coming to iOS very soon as well. Users simply need to tap the “Free up space” feature in Settings, and Google Photos will automatically remove device copies of their backed up photos and videos.

Photos icon

Google notes in an official post that users who are backing up their photos in High quality may now also receive an Assistant card (Android only) prompting them to bulk delete device copies when they’re nearing the storage limit on their devices.

Another feature that Google says will begin rolling out on the web on Wednesday is that users will be able to downgrade previously uploaded photos from “Original quality” to “High quality” by visiting from their computer and clicking ‘Recover Storage’.

“Technology runs through my veins...” | Follow me: @DrUsmanQ

  • StevenUsernameMustBeUnique

    but they can’t backup live photos yet. So they’re just gonna delete my live photos and back up the still ones?