Share:

WhatsApp Users Now Have 4,096 Seconds to Delete Sent Messages

Share:

If you use WhatsApp to communicate with your friends, you can now delete a message up to a little over one hour after you send it.

The “delete for everyone” function was first added to the app last October, but users only had seven minutes after sending a message to delete it. In the messaging service‘s latest update, however, the app extends that window significantly.

According to a new report from The Verge, the messaging app’s most recent patch (2.18.31) extends the “delete for everyone” period to one hour, eight minutes and 16 seconds according to a tweet from the messaging service.

To use the feature, open WhatsApp and go to the chat with the message you want to delete. Then just tap and hold the message or messages and select “Delete” (trash bin icon) from the menu on top of your screen. Then choose “Delete for Everyone.”

No further information about this change has been provided by the Facebook-owned company and even the support page is mum on the details. No explanation has been offered for the very specific time limit of 4,096 seconds, though it has been pointed out by many on Twitter that the time limit is equal to 2^12.

This is certainly good news for regretful texters as they now have more time to realize maybe that text they sent at two in the morning wasn’t such a good idea.

Share:

Deals