Instagram has announced an update to its iOS app to bring a new feature called Photos of You, which allows you to tag friends directly when you share photos.
Today, we’re excited to introduce Photos of You and bring you a new way to share and discover stories on Instagram. When you upload a photo to Instagram, you’re now able to add people as easily as you add hashtags. Only you can add people to your photos, so you have control over the images you share. And it doesn’t stop at people—you can add any account on Instagram, whether it’s your best friend, favorite coffee shop or even that adorable dog you follow.
The new Photos of Your section will appear on your profile and when you get tagged–you’ll be notified and the image will appear in the new section. You can also adjust settings so photos will only appear once you approve them. The company says we will have until May 16 to test the new feature before the Photos of You section is visible to others.
The new Instagram 3.5 update is now live in the App Store. Click here to download it once it goes live.