Share:

Apple Provides Solution to iPhone and Apple Watch Excess Battery Drain and GPS Data Issue

Share:

Upon the release of iOS 14 and watchOS 7 this month, users began experiencing issues regarding recordings of GPS data not saving properly across all Apple Watch devices. Some users have also experienced excess battery drain in their iPhones and Apple Watch. Apple has now provided a solution.

After the release of iOS 14 and watchOS 7, some affected users took to forums and social media in search of a solution. Now, according to MacRumors‘ report, Apple has provided an official solution that should resolve the nagging issues. Users must unpair both devices, wipe them, restore the iPhone and Apple watch and then pair the two again to fix any issues experienced.

In a support document, Apple outlines the breadth of issues a user may experience from the software updates. The notable problems include:

  • Your workout route maps are missing in the Fitness app on iPhone for previous GPS-enabled workouts from your Apple Watch.
  • The Activity, Heart Rate, or other health-related apps fail to launch or load data on your Apple Watch.
  • The Fitness app or Health app fail to launch or load data on your iPhone.
  • The Health app or Fitness app is reporting an inaccurate amount of data storage on your iPhone.
  • The Activity app is reporting an inaccurate amount of data storage on your Apple Watch.
  • Your environmental sound levels data or headphone audio levels data from Apple Watch is missing in the Health app on iPhone.
  • Increased battery drain on your iPhone or Apple Watch.

Apple suggests that if a user experiences two or more of the aforementioned issues, they should follow the steps to unpairing and restoring their devices. To begin the process of fixing the issue, Apple suggests unpairing both devices. To do so, users must go into the ‘My Watch’ tab in their iPhone settings and select ‘Unpair’.

Afterwards, Apple suggests backing up both the iPhone and Apple Watch to the iCloud. Following that, users must erase the content and settings of both devices. Finally, users will want to restore from the iCloud backup.

Share: