Apple Watch Reservations for In-Store Pickup Limited to One Per Customer

The Apple Watch will be available for pre-order starting this Friday. Customers can choose to buy it in two ways: order “blindly” online (recommended by Apple’s retail chief), or reserve it for pickup in-store. There is a catch, however: If you choose the latter method, you will be limited to one Apple Watch per person, sources have told MacRumors.

Apple watch

Customers from around the world will be required to show a valid government-issued identity card when they show up in-store to pick up their Apple Watch of choice. Also, they will need to go personally to pick up the device – they will not be able send someone else on their behalf.

“Inventory is subject to change. Your reservation is valid for pickup only at the Apple Retail Store that you selected. If you do not pick up your selected item(s) by the designated date and time, your reservation will be cancelled and your item(s) will be returned to stock. There is a maximum of 1 reservation per customer. Number of reservations may be limited. Apple reserves the right to refuse, limit or cancel a reservation if Apple determines that a customer has provided misleading or fraudulent information and/or abused, disrupted or attempted to circumvent the reservation system.”

As MacRumors points out, the one-Apple-Watch-per-customer reservation limit will be in place in the US and the UK, but it is likely that Apple will adopt the same approach in Canada and the other six countries where the device launches on April 24.

The initial plan was to allow two reservations per customer, but since stock will be limited, Apple has decided to instead proceed with only one per person.

This, however, doesn’t apply to pre-orders, but the possibility to limit online orders to one or two Apple Watch units per customer is still there, and there is no word about it yet. Pre-ordered devices will ship to homes starting April 24 in nine countries: the United States, Canada, France, China, Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, Germany and the UK.