fbpx

Share:

Google Introduces Automatic Deletion of Location History and Activity Data

Share:

Google has today announced the launch of its new auto-delete controls that make it easier for users to manage their location history and search activity data. The new controls will start rolling out to users in the coming few weeks and will allow them to delete their location and activity data automatically (via Venture Beat).

Image002

A new drop-down option within the Google Account dashboard on mobile and the web will allow users to select one of two windows i.e. 3 months or 18 months, specifying how long they would like to retain data. The control will also cover web and app activity. Google says that any older data will be deleted on an ongoing basis:


“Data can make Google products more useful for you … [but] we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it,” Google product managers Marlo McGriff and David Monsees wrote in a blog post.

“You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you — and we’re committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen.”

Today’s improvements come almost a year after Google revamped Security Checkup for individual accounts and launched predictive phishing protection in Chrome.

Share: