Google has today announced in a new blog post that starting next month, your Google Photos will no longer sync with Google Drive, a move the company believes should ‘simplify the experience’ across Drive and Photos.
At the same time, Google is also bringing a new feature to photos.google.com called “Upload from Drive,” which lets you manually choose photos and videos from Drive, including “Shared with Me” items, to import into Photos.
“Starting in July, new photos and videos from Drive won’t automatically show in Photos. Similarly, new photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive. Photos and videos you delete in Drive will not be removed from Photos. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive. This change is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products.”
It must be noted, however, that since photos and videos will no longer sync across both products, items manually copied in Original Quality to Photos will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photos.
Google further notes that Backup and Sync for Windows and Mac will continue to work. As before, items uploaded in High Quality won’t count against your account storage quota.
Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos. For more information, hit up this link.