Share: twitterTweet facebookShare

iOS 15.2 Allows Users to Erase, Reset Locked iPhone or iPad Without Connecting to PC

Share: twitterTweet facebookShare

With the iOS 15.2 update, Apple has added the ability to erase and reset a locked iPhone or iPad without connecting it to a PC or Mac.

To reset a locked Apple iPhone or iPad before iOS 15.2, you had to connect it to a Mac or PC first, after which you’d have to put it into recovery mode. After that, you had to update or reset the locked device using your computer, and then you had to set up your device again.

Now, as long as the locked iPhone or iPad in question has an active network connection, you can now erase the device from the lock screen, assuming the device in question is running iOS 15.2 or later, explains a new report from 9to5Mac.

After you repeatedly enter incorrect passcodes on your device, the Security Lockout mode will become active on the lock screen. It will show either an Erase iPhone or Erase iPad button — depending on the device you have — to permanently erase your data and reset the device. You will then be asked to type your Apple ID password to sign out of your Apple ID on the device.

It is important to note that your data will be completely erased from your iPhone or iPad once you use the Security Lockout mode. You are, therefore, recommended to make sure that you recently backed up your data and settings before proceeding.

The feature is also limited to users who are on iOS 15.2 and iPadOS 15.2. On earlier versions, you will continue to see the disabled message that has just a shortcut to access your emergency contact.

Share: twitterTweet facebookShare