Share:

Twitter’s #ThisHappened Lists Globally Trending Canadians of the Year

Share:

2019 has apparently been a great year for Canadians, who trended worldwide throughout the entire year.

Twitter has released its annual #ThisHappened in Canada list for 2019, and by the looks of it, “there was no shortage of topics that kept Canadians trending globally over the past 12 months.”

According to the list, Bianca Andreescu was the most popular Canadian athlete on the micro-blogging platform, pulling in the most mentions in 2019. This marks the first time a female has been the most-mentioned Canadian athlete in a calendar year.

Shawn Mendes was the most-mentioned Canadian musician in 2019, putting him ahead of past winners like Drake and Justin Bieber, while Ryan Reynolds was the most popular Canadian actor on the social network.

As far as sports go, the NBA championship-winning Toronto Raptors saw the most account mentions in 2019, making it two consecutive years it took home the Twitter title.

Here’s the entire list of Twitter’s most-mentioned in Canada. These insights are based on total Tweet volumes between January 1, 2019 and November 15, 2019:

Athletes – Male

  1. RJ Barrett (@RjBarrett6) – basketball
  2. Mitch Marner (@Marner93) – hockey
  3. Brad Marchand (@BMarch63)  – hockey
  4. John Tavares (@91Tavares) – hockey
  5. P.K. Subban (@PKSubban1) – hockey

Athletes – Female

  1. Bianca Andreescu (@Bandreescu_) – tennis
  2. Tessa Virtue (@TessaVirtue) – ice dancing
  3. Genie Bouchard (@geniebouchard) – tennis
  4. Brooke Henderson (@BrookeHenderson) – golf
  5. Christine Sinclair (@sincy12) – soccer

Teams

  1. Toronto Raptors (@Raptors)
  2. Toronto Maple Leafs (@MapleLeafs)
  3. Toronto Blue Jays (@BlueJays)
  4. Montreal Canadiens (@CanadiensMTL)
  5. Calgary Flames (@NHLFlames)

Musicians – Male

  1. Shawn Mendes (@ShawnMendes)
  2. Justin Bieber (@JustinBieber)
  3. Drake (@Drake)
  4. Sebastian Javier (@sebtsb)
  5. The Weeknd (@TheWeeknd)

Musician – Female

  1. Alessia Cara (@alessiacara)
  2. Avril Lavigne (@AvrilLavigne)
  3. Celine Dion (@celinedion)
  4. Carly Rae Jepsen (@CarlyRaeJepsen)
  5. Grimes (@grimezsz)

Musicians – Bands or Duos

  1. Zeds Dead (@ZedsDead)
  2. Nickelback (@Nickelback)
  3. Tegan and Sara (@teganandsara)
  4. Arkells (@ArkellsMusic)
  5. Loud Luxury (@LoudLuxury)

Actors – Male

  1. Ryan Reynolds (@VanCityReynolds)
  2. Seth Rogen (@Sethrogen)
  3. Stephen Amell (@stephenamell)
  4. Finn Wolfhard (@finnskata)
  5. Mena Massoud (@MenaMassoud)

Actors – Female

  1. Sandra Oh (@IamSandraOh)
  2. Ellen Page (@EllenPage)
  3. Stana Katic (@Stana_Katic)
  4. Nina Dobrev (@ninadobrev)
  5. Shay Mitchell (@shaymitch)




Politicians

  1. Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau) – Prime Minister of Canada
  2. Andrew Scheer (@AndrewScheer) – Leader of the Conservative Party of Canada
  3. Doug Ford (@fordnation) – Premier of Ontario
  4. Maxime Bernier (@MaximeBernier) – Leader of the People’s Party of Canada
  5. Jason Kenney (@jkenney) – Premier of Alberta

Provincial Premiers

  1. Doug Ford (@fordnation) – Ontario
  2. Jason Kenney (@jkenney) – Alberta
  3. François Legault (@FrancoisLegault) – Quebec
  4. John Horgan (@jjhorgan) – British Columbia
  5. Scott Moe (@PremierScottMoe) – Saskatchewan

Mayors

  1. John Tory (@JohnTory) – Toronto
  2. Jim Watson (@JimWatsonOttawa) – Ottawa
  3. Valerie Plante (@Val_Plante) – Montreal
  4. Naheed Nenshi (@Nenshi) – Calgary
  5. Kennedy Stewart (@KennedyStewart) – Vancouver

Share: