fbpx

Share:

Uber Launching in Regina This Afternoon at 3PM [u]

Share:

Uber is set to launch in Regina, Saskatchewan, today, following the province’s new bylaws and regulations to permit ridesharing.

At 3PM CST (1PM PDT/4PM EDT) today, Uber Canada and local officials will be on hand for a photo op in front of City Hall, at the south side of the Peace Fountain on Victoria Avenue, to be followed by a press conference officially announcing the debut.

Michael van Hemmen, Head of western Canada for Uber, along with Minister Joe Hargrave, responsible for Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), will be on hand, along with Regina Mayor, Michael Fougere; MADD Canada Regional Manager Trace Crawford; and CEO of Regina Chamber of Conference, John Hopkins.

Regina will be the second city in Saskatchewan to get Uber, with Saskatoon launching in back in early February. The province had a final bylaw vote back in late February which determined ride-hailing requirements, similar to other cities.



Update: Uber issued the following statement regarding today’s launch in Regina, saying, “We are excited about the launch of a new safe, reliable and affordable transportation option in the city of Regina, along with flexible economic opportunities for local residents,” said Michael van Hemmen, Head of western Canada for Uber. “We also want to highlight the innovative and collaborative approach taken by the provincial government, the city and local organizations like MADD Canada and the Regina Chamber to help make this launch possible.”

Share: