Share:

YouTube Went Down Worldwide Tonight and People Freaked Out

Share:

YouTube is the new cable TV for cord cutters and our younger generations. Tonight the service went down worldwide, causing many to share their frustration about the outage on the interwebs.

Youtube outage

Around 6:30PM PDT/9:30PM EDT, YouTube went down and people weren’t sure what to do with themselves. YouTube on Twitter announced:

Thanks for your reports about YouTube, YouTube TV and YouTube Music access issues. We’re working on resolving this and will let you know once fixed. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and will keep you updated.

The outage worldwide lasted at least an hour, with YouTube announcing at 8:00PM PDT/11:00PM EDT, “We’re back! Thanks for all of your patience. If you continue to experience issues, please let us know.”

Remember the days when cable TV would suffer an outage? You’d end up calling your friends on the phone (they would actually answer!) and ask them if their TV was working. Heck, even if your friends weren’t home, you’d ask their parents to check the TV too (because nobody wanted to miss out on an episode of Mr. Belvedere).

What did you do when YouTube went down tonight? The comments on the Canadian Outages YouTube page are pure gold.

Share: