Apple Launches ECG for Apple Watch Series 4 in Europe, Hong Kong [u]

Apple has announced this afternoon Apple Watch Series 4 users in 19 European countries along with Hong Kong now have the ECG app:

The ECG app on Apple Watch Series 4, a direct-to-consumer product that enables customers to take an electrocardiogram right from their wrist, is available in Hong Kong and 19 European countries, including France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom. In addition to receiving De Novo clearance in the US from the FDA, the ECG app1 and irregular rhythm notification2 are now CE marked and cleared in the European Economic Area.

This new addition will come with the release of watchOS 5.2, available now.

Sadly, no ECG app is available for Canada yet but this could change soon considering this latest international expansion.

Recently, Health Canada replied to us on Twitter to say, “Apple has communicated that they are working to bring the Apple Watch heart features to Canada soon. However, to date, Health Canada has not received an application.”

Below is the full list of countries that now have the ECG app for Apple Watch Series 4:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guam
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • UK
  • US
  • US Virgin Islands

As for Canada, we may have to keep waiting. Hopefully we hear some good news at either WWDC or this fall when new iPhones are again expected to debut.

…more to follow

P.S. - Like our news? Support the site with a coffee/beer. Or shop with our Amazon link. We use affiliate links when possible--thank you for supporting independent media.