Lightroom for iOS Update Permanently Wipes User’s Photos, Presets
As reported by PetaPixel, Adobe’s Lightroom app for iPhone and iPad has recently been updated to version 5.4 which has wiped users’ photos and presets that were not already synced to the cloud. Adobe has not only confirmed the issue but has also said there is no way to recover them.
“I’ve talked with customer service for 4+ hours over the past 2 days and just a minute ago they told me that the issue has no fix and that these lost photos are unrecoverable,” wrote one Reddit who had lost “2+ years of edits” after the update.
“Adobe is unbelievable some times. All I got was a ‘we’re sincerely sorry’ and nothing else. 2+ years of photo edits just gone because of Adobe and all they give is a sorry, lmao,” the user wrote.
Adobe officially confirmed the issue yesterday, explaining that customers who updated to Lightroom 5.4 on iPhone and iPad “may be missing photos and presets.”
Below is Adobe’s full statement:
We are aware that some customers who updated to Lightroom 5.4.0 on iPhone and iPad may be missing photos and presets that were not synced to the Lightroom cloud.
A new version of Lightroom mobile (5.4.1) for iOS and iPadOS has now been released that prevents this issue from affecting additional customers.
Installing version 5.4.1 will not restore missing photos or presets for customers affected by the problem introduced in 5.4.0.
We know that some customers have photos and presets that are not recoverable. We sincerely apologize to any customers who have been affected by this issue.
If you are affected by this issue, Adobe suggests you refer to the information on this forum thread.