fbpx

Share:

New ‘Off-Facebook Activity’ Feature Lets You See and Control Your Shared Data

Share:

Facebook has today introduced a new ‘Off-Facebook Activity’ feature that lets you view a summary of your activity information shared by third-party apps and websites with Facebook and even clear that information from your account if you want to.

Ofa banner

“This is another way to give people more transparency and control on Facebook,” the company said in a press release. The new features lets you do the following:

  • See a summary of the information other apps and websites have sent Facebook through our online business tools, like Facebook Pixel or Facebook Login;
  • Disconnect this information from your account if you want to; and
  • Choose to disconnect future off-Facebook activity from your account. You can do this for all of your off-Facebook activity, or just for specific apps and websites.

According to Facebook, if you choose to clear your off-Facebook activity, your identifying information from the data that apps and websites choose to send to Facebook will be completely removed. Moreover, Facebook will not know which websites you visited and it won’t be able to use any of the data to show you targeted ads on Facebook, Instagram, or Messenger.



Facebook has started making Off-Facebook Activity available to users in Ireland, South Korea, and Spain and will continue to roll it out everywhere over the coming months.

In a statement to iPhone in Canada, Facebook said, “In regards to a Canadian roll-out, we are taking a gradual approach to rolling out the tool across the globe. We do not have a fixed date for all country launches at this stage.”

Let us know what you think about Facebook’s new privacy feature in the comments section below.

Share: