Gmail for iOS 3.0 Adds Background Mail Refresh, Simplified Sign-In

Gmail for iOS has been updated to version 3.0 which brings background app refresh! This means your email will download when the app is not open. It requires iOS 7 and at least one type of push notification enabled for it to work. Also new is simplified sign-in, which means once you sign into one Google iOS app (such as Chrome, Google Docs, etc) you’ll be automatically signed into Gmail. 

What’s New in Version 3.0
Background app refresh: Gmail now fetches your mail even when it is not open so it will be waiting for you when you open the app. Requires iOS 7 and at least one type of notification (badge, alert, or banner) to be turned on.

Simplified sign-in: Signing into Google Apps such as Gmail, Maps, Drive and Chrome just got easier. Sign in to one, and you’ll be signed in to all automatically.

Note: In some cases, you may need to sign-in to Gmail again after this update.

 Photo 1  1 2 Photo 2 3

For those with complex Gmail inboxes with numerous accounts, filters and tags (i.e. select email auto archiving, etc), the official iOS app is still your best bet and our choice for managing email. In conjunction with Mailbox for managing solely our inboxes, it’s one way to do things around here.

Click here to download Gmail for iOS 3.0. Let us know what you think of this update.

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of iPhoneinCanada.ca. Follow me on Twitter, and @iPhoneinCanada, and on Google+.

  • Geoff

    I only use the gmail app to manage my work email. So imagine my surprise when the new gmail app signed me into my personal gmail instead. When I tried to remove it it said it would do so for ALL Google apps.

    In short this is why I’m starting to really hate Google

  • bk

    Previous I could “sign out” so if someone found my phone they would not be able to see all of my gmail emails. And all I would have to do is sign in again when I want to see them. Now to try to sign out it says “Remove” and I’m scared to do that assuming I wil have to enter everything again to set up the account. Or am I ok to “remove”
    Liking Google less all the time

  • If you ‘remove’ the account…the worst that could happen would be to re-add it? Nothing will be lost would it?