macOS 11 Big Sur Compatible Macs List: Your Older Macs Got Dropped

MacOS 11 hero

Apple today announced macOS Big Sur, version 11 of the Mac operating system, declaring a new chapter in the history of the Mac, ending nearly 20 years of OS X.

With macOS 11, there is a new design, a big update to Safari, improvements to Maps and Messages and also increased privacy features. More elements from iOS and iPadOS have made their way into macOS Big Sur, such as Control Center, refreshed Notification Center and more.

Will your Mac support macOS Big Sur? Find out from the list of Macs below, as noted on Apple’s website:

  • MacBook 2015 and later
  • MacBook Air 2013 and later
  • MacBook Pro Late 2013 and later
  • Mac mini 2014 and later
  • iMac 2014 and later
  • iMac Pro 2017 and later (all models)
  • Mac Pro 2013 and later

MacOS big sur compatible macs

The following Macs get dropped from the upgrade to macOS Big Sur, despite supporting macOS Catalina, the predecessor to macOS 11 (it’s been a good run, folks):

  • 2012 MacBook Air
  • 2012 MacBook Pro, Early 2013 MacBook Pro
  • 2012 Mac mini
  • 2012 iMac, 2013 iMac

Developers already have their hands on the first macOS Big Sur beta. The final release is slated for this fall, ready to support an upcoming Mac powered by Apple’s in-house silicon instead of Intel.

P.S. Help support us and independent media here: Buy us a beer, Buy us a coffee, or use our Amazon link to shop.