Share:

Google Announces New Privacy Improvements, Data Retention Practices

Share:

In an effort to keep its users’ information safe and put them in control of what they share, Google has today announced new privacy improvements and data retention practices across its core products. “We believe that products should keep your information for only as long as it’s useful and helpful to you,” notes Google.

Google

Last year, Google introduced auto-delete controls which give users the choice to have Google automatically and continuously delete their Location History, search, voice, and YouTube activity data after 3 months or 18 months. Now, Google says it is changing its data retention practices to make auto-delete the default for its core activity settings. 

Starting today, the first time you turn on Location History, which is off by default, your auto-delete option will be set to 18 months by default. Web & App Activity auto-delete will also default to 18 months for new accounts.

Below are the various privacy control updates announced by Google:

  • Easier access to Google Account controls directly from Search
  • Easier access to Incognito Mode in Google’s most popular apps by long-pressing on user profile pictures in Search, Maps and YouTube.
  • Each year, more than 200 million people visit Privacy Checkup so Google is adding proactive recommendations, including guided tips to help users manage your privacy settings.

More information is available on Google’s website.

Share: