iOS 16 ‘Undo Send’ and Edit in Messages: Works for Up to 15 Minutes; Deleted Texts Remain for Up to 30 Days
Messages will finally get the ability to edit and undo send in iOS 16 and iPadOS 16, features that have long been available with apps such as WhatsApp.
After the WWDC keynote, Apple’s website provided more details on how the Undo Send and Edit feature works.
According to Apple, “users can edit or recall a message for up to 15 minutes after sending it, or recover recently deleted messages for up to 30 days after deletion.” So this means your deleted messages don’t disappear forever.
Another major feature of Messages in iOS 16 is the ability to mark a message as unread.
Also coming to Messages is SharePlay, allowing users to enjoy synced content such as music or movies, while still chatting inside Messages.
For current iOS 16 and iPadOS 16 beta testers, as expected the undo send feature does not work on older devices.