Twitter Testing Ability to Adjust Conversation Settings on Live Tweets

Twitter has started testing the ability to adjust conversation settings during live Tweets on iOS, Android, and the web, allowing users to customize who can reply to “minimize unwanted replies” and “improve meaningful conversations.”

Tweet

Starting today, Twitter users can change who can reply to their Tweets midway through a conversation. To adjust your conversation settings, follow these steps:

  1. Tap on the Compose Tweet button.
  2. Click or tap Everyone can reply next to the globe icon to choose who can reply to your Tweet. 
  • Everyone — this is the current default option. For public accounts, it means that everyone will continue to be able to reply. If your Tweets are protected, it means only people who follow you will continue to be able to reply.
  • People you follow — only people who you follow, as well as anyone you mention in the Tweet, will be able to reply.
  • Only people you mention — only people who you mention in the Tweet will be able to reply.

If you have Tweeted already, you can change who replies by navigating to the top right of the Tweet and tapping the More icon.

It must be noted that once your Tweet is live, people will see that you’ve limited who can reply to your Tweet. And if a Tweet is deleted, Retweets will also be deleted and replies will lose any previous restrictions.