Share:

Spotify Now Lets Multiple Users Control a Listening Session

Share:

Spotify has just introduced a new Group Sessions feature for its Premium subscribers, which allows multiple users to control a listening session. Being rolled out in beta, the new feature lets participants pause, play, skip, and select tracks in the queue, and also add their own picks to the list (via The Verge).

Spotify

Spotify Group Sessions only work between Premium users, where the host shares a scannable Spotify Code from the app with whomever they want to share playback control.

Any tracks queued by the participants update on everyone’s devices, and sessions end automatically after an hour of inactivity. There is no cap on the number of users in a Group Session.

“This is a small but incremental perk for Premium users. Spotify’s slowly built additional features for its paying users, like allowing them to hide songs from playlists, in an effort to make the paid tier more appealing.

People likely won’t subscribe for any one feature, but in the aggregate, the more the team can offer these users, the more likely they are to pay.”

Spotify says it will continue to evolve the Group Sessions experience over time based on user feedback.

Share: