Apple has introduced a new feature reminding users when they delete an app that contains an active, subscribed service.
The new iOS 13 feature, first spotted by Federico Viticci on Twitter, displays a pop-up explaining your subscription options when you delete an app. The pop-up informs the user that even if the app is deleted, the connected subscription will remain active and can still be used on other devices.
The notification also gives users the ability to quickly jump to the Manage Subscriptions interface where one can cancel that subscription.
The feature can only work if you purchased your subscription directly from the app after you’ve installed it on your iOS devices. It’s unlikely that it will show similar notifications for services you’ve subscribed to elsewhere, as Apple has no way of knowing about the status of those subscriptions.
Never seen this alert before – Apple now tells you if an app you’re deleting has a subscription still active. Good move.
(Taken on iOS 13 beta 2.) pic.twitter.com/WU57nS8Ziv
— Federico Viticci (@viticci) June 18, 2019
Viticci noticed the new feature on iOS 13’s second beta, which Apple just released. The feature is just one of the smaller changes on the upcoming operating system that the Cupertino company didn’t announce when it was first unveiled, and we’re bound to see a number of these small additions before iOS 13 officially drops in September.
Earlier this year, Apple revised its guidelines for App Store subscriptions to prevent apps from “tricking” users into signing up to a subscription service. Just a few months later, Apple added an extra step in confirming a subscription service, asking users to confirm for a second time whether one wants to subscribe, also helping prevent accidental sign-ups.
Apple released the second beta of its upcoming iOS 13 operating system yesterday.